Ashby & Coalville District Scouts

Scouting for everyone in the area

Explorer Scouts

Explorers are the fourth section of the Scouting movement, open to all young people, boys and girls, between the ages of 14 and 18.

Right from the time of Baden-Powell, there have been arrangements for young people who wanted to continue after their time in the Scout Section, and in 1967, Venture Scouts were formed from the existing Senior Scout and Rover Scout Sections.  During the late 1990s we decided that, to meet the changing needs of young people, there should be two sections for the over-14s: Explorer Scouts for 14 to 18-year-olds, and the Scout Network for 18 to 25s.

Whereas Beavers, Cubs and Scouts are organised by Scout Groups, Explorer Scouting is run by the District. In Ashby & Coalville there are currently six Explorer Scout Units each providing their own range of activities and joining together for District, County, National and International events.

In addition there is the Young Leader Unit – Explorer Scouts who choose to devote a large proportion of their time in Scouting to service in another section, often as part of their Duke of Edinburgh’s Award. Whether in the Beaver Scout, Cub Scout or Scout Section those who are between the ages of 14 and 18 must be members of an Explorer Scout Young Leaders’ Unit and if they want can also be a member of a regular Unit.

  • Monday – Apollo (Donisthorpe)
  • Monday – Da Vinci (Markfield)
  • Monday – Endurance (Willesley)
  • Tuesday – Attenborough (Desford)
  • Tuesday – Icarus (Market Bosworth)
  • Thursday – Ashford (Thringstone)
  • Thursday – Armstrong (Coalville)

Please complete and return the application form to start your interest today.